Delroy Lindo

Delroy Lindo


Delroy Lindo is an English American actor who has appeared in film, on television and on the stage. He has starred in several Spike Lee-directed films, including Malcolm X (1992), Crooklyn (1994), Clockers (1995) and most recently Da 5 Bloods (2020), for which he won a New York Film Critics Circle Award for his portrayal of a Vietnam veteran. Other film credits include Get Shorty (1995), Ransom (1996), The Cider House Rules (1999) and Gone in 60 Seconds (2000). Mr. Lindo won widespread acclaim for his work on four seasons of the CBS series The Good Fight (2017-2021) and his role in Hulu's comedy series UnPrisoned (2023). This summer, he began production on Blade for Marvel Studios. Mr. Lindo is the recipient of such accolades as an NAACP Image Award, a Satellite Award, and nominations for a Drama Desk Award, a Helen Hayes Award, a Tony Award, two Critics' Choice Television Awards, and three Screen Actors Guild Awards. In addition, he was awarded an honorary doctorate in Arts and Humanities from Virginia Union University. In 2023, he received the AAFCA’s (African American Film Critics Association) Legacy Award. In addition to earning his degree from SF State in his fifties, Mr. Lindo also earned an MFA from New York University’s Gallatin School of Individualized Study.

Mr. Lindo is married to Nashormeh N.R. Lindo, an artist, educator, independent curatorial consultant, and arts advocate. Mr. and Mrs. Lindo have one son, Damiri, who plays basketball at the University of Nebraska, Kearney (UNK).

SF State University Involvement:

  • Alumnus of the Year/Hall of Fame (2021)
  • Keynote speaker, School of Cinema’s Valediction Ceremony (2021)
  • Keynote speaker, School of Cinema’s Film Finals (2021)
  • Featured in SF State Magazine (2021, 2008)
  • Speaker, SF State Commencement (2014)
  • Host, College of Ethnic Studies 41st Anniversary (2010)
  • Featured alumnus, East Bay Remarkable Alumni Event (2009)
  • Member, Notable Alumni in Creative Arts
  • Past member, College of Ethnic Studies Friends Committee